Each year, the Spirit of King Award Ceremony honors the lifetime achievements of a local resident who pursues human rights and equality in the spirit of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

2019: Harvey Adams, Jr.  

2019: Judge Walter Little  

2017: Katie Everette-Johnson  

2016: Dr. Curtis Walker  

2016: Dorothy I. Height  

2015: K. Leroy Irvis  

2014: Rev. LeRoy Patrick  

2013: Dr. Barbara Ann Sizemore  

2012: Monsignor Charles Owen Rice  

2012: Dr. Edna Beatrice Chappel McKenzie  

2011: Malvin R. Goode  

2011: Byrd Rowlette Brown  

2010: Jake Milliones, Ph.D.  

2010: Bishop Charles H. Foggie  

2009: Charles "Teenie" Harris  

2009: Frank E. Bolden  

2008: Richard F. Jones, Esq.  

2008: Mamie H. Lee  

2007: Robert E. Williams  

2006: Dr. Eugene Lloyd Youngue, Jr.  

2006: Everett Emory Utterback, Esq.  

2005: Rev. Elmer Louis Williams  

2005: Florence Reizenstein  

2004: George W. Gaines, Sr.  

2004: William Clarence "Billy" Eckstine  

2003: Charles Henry Kindle  

2003: Dr. Selma Hortense Burke  

2002: Dr. James A. Stewart  

2002: Dr. Alma Johnson Illery  

2001: Hazel Garland  

2001: Dr. Oswald Jerry Nickens  

2000: Frankie Pace  

2000: Louis Mason, Jr.  

1999: Oliver Wendell Mason  

1998: Oliver Livingstone Johnson  

1997: Daisy E. Lampkin  

1996: John Brewer, Sr.  

1996: Robert L. Vann  

1995: Mary Cardwell Dawson  

1994: Josh Gibson  

1994: Roberto Clemente  

1993: Mary Elizabeth Goode Dudley  

1992: Margaret L. Dobbins Milliones  

1991: James McCoy, Jr.  

1990: Matthew Moore, Sr.  

1989: Wilhelmina Byrd Brown  

The Spirit of King ceremony is sponsored by the Kingsley Association, the New Pittsburgh Courier and Port Authority of Allegheny County.